39

photoshop training title

SO THE FAMOUS PHOTSHOP, WHAT IS IT?…  AN IMAGE EDITING SOFTWARE THAT ALLOWS USERS TO MANIPULATE, CROP, RESIZE, AND CORRECT COLOUR ON DIGITAL PHOTOS. I HAVE HAD SMALL PRACTICE WITH PHOTOSHOP PREVIOUSLY, BUT I WAS NEVER WELL EQUIPED WITH IT’S TOOLS AND FUNCTIONS. INTERESTINGLY, I HAVE GROWN TO LIKE PHOTOSHOP AND I DEFINITELY HAVE LEARNED TO USE MAY OF IT’S TOOLS.

WHAT I AND MANY OTHERS HAD STRUGGLE WITH WHEN USING PHOTOSHOP WAS WORKING OUT HOW TO USE THE LAYERS. I OBVIOUSLY GOOGLED PHOTOSHOP BEGINNER’S GUIDE AND CAME ACROSS A MINOR ONLINE BEGINNERS GUIDE TO PHOTOSHOP. ON THAT I CAME ACROSS THIS…

LAYERS

^ WHAT I HAVE LEARNT IS THAT PHOTOSHOP IS AN A SENSE, NOT A MULTI-TASKER. BY THIS I MEAN, WORKING WITH LAYERS. LAYERS CAN EQUAL TO THE BACKGROUND, IMAGES YOU HAVE OPENED UP, TITLES ETC. THERE IS A SMALL EYE ICON BESIDES EACH LAYER TAB. IF YOU JUST WANT TO SEE ONE LAYER BY ITSELF, YOU HAVE TO ONLY THE EYE ICON OPEN FOR THAT LAYER. ALSO IF YOU WANT TO MAKE AMENDS TO THE BACKGROUND FOR EXAMPLE, YOU HAVE TO CLICK ON THAT EXACT LAYER TAB.

I OBVIOUSLY MADE A LOT OF ERRORS WHEN PRACTICING WITH PHOTOSHOP SO TO GET RID OF YOUR ERRORS, YOU CAN CLICK ‘STEP BACKWARDS’ AND VICE VERSA, ‘STEP FORWARDS’. ADDITIONALY, YOU CAN GO ONTO WINDOWS AND CLICK ONTO ‘HISTORY’, WHERE A SMALL BOX WILL APPEAR SHOWING YOU ALL YOU HAVE ALL DONE SINCE YOU OPENED PHOTSHOP. IT HAS A LITTLE TRASH CAN TO GET RID OF WHAT YOU HAVE DONE. I FOUND THIS PARTICUALRLY USEFUL AS ‘STEP BACKWARDS’ DIDN’T ALWAYS WORK AND WITH THE HISTORY BOX, I CAN DELETE THE SMALLEST MISTAKES

^ I ALSO WATCHED A CHEEKY PHOTOSHOP TUTORIAL!

PRACTICING CREATING A FILM POSTER:

WE WERE ALSO ASSIGNED WITH THE TASK OF CREATING A PRACTICE FILM POSTER (NOT A DRAFT). BELOW ARE MY STEPS, IN WHICH I INSTRUCT YOU HOW I MADE IT (NOT A RECIPE)

PT 1

1. FIRSTLY I HAD TO OPEN A NEW PAGE IN PHOTOSHOP MAKING THE MEASUREMENTS WERE CORRECT (A40). I ALSO HAD TO USE THE ‘INTERNATIONAL PAPER’ FORMAT.

PT 2

2. I THEN WENT ON GOOGLE IMAGES TO SEARCH FOR A LIGHT GREY BACKROUND, AS THIS FILM POSTER WAS BASED ON A SCI-FI FILM. ONCE I SAVED THE IMAGE, I OPENED IT UP IN PHOTOSHOP. IT CREATED A NEW TAB/ LAYER. I HAD TO DUPLICATE THE LAYER TO THE ‘FILM TRAINING POSTER’ LAYER WHICH WAS BLACK CANVAS. ONCE IT WAS ON IT WAS TOO SMALL, SO I HAD TO ENLARGE IT TO MAKE IT FIT USING THE TRANSFORM TOOL, WHILST HOLDING THE SHIFT TO PREVENT IT FROM DISTORTING.

PT 3

3. I THEN WENT ONTO GOOGLE IMAGES AND SEARCHED FOR AN IMAGE OF A ROBOT. ONCE I FOUND THE ONE I LIKED AND I SAVE IT, I OPENED IT UP IN PHOTOSHOP AS A NEW LAYER.

PT 4

4. NEXT I HAD TO CUT AROUND THE IMAGE TO GET RID OF THE GREY BACKGROUND. ONCE I HAD ACCOMPLISHED THIS, I ATTEMPTED TO DUPLICATE THE LAYER AND PLACE THE ROBOT ONTO THE ‘FILM TRAINING POSTER’. BIG MISTAKE! (THE USE OF CAPITALS IN EACH SENTENCE PREVENTS THESE WORDS SOUNDING DRAMATIC 😦  ). SO WHAT I HAD ACCROSS WAS THE ROBOT WITH A WHITE BACKGROUND. I WAS CONFUSED AS TO WHY THE WHITE BACKGORUND WAS THERE. WHAT I HAD TO DO WAS GO ONTO THE ‘ROBOT’ LAYER AND GET RID OF THE BACKGGROUND AS A WHOLE. ONCE I HAD ACCOMPLISHED THIS, I WAS ABLE TO PLACE THE ROBOT ON ITS OWN, ON THE ‘FILM TRAINING POSTER’. I HAD TO AGAIN TRANSFROM THE SIZE AND CENTER IT TO WHERE I WANTED.

 PT 6

5. I ONLY ADDED THE TITLES AND A TAGLINE BECAUSE I WANTED TO KEEP THE FILM POSTER VERY SIMPLE, SIMILARLY TO HOW I IMAGINE MINE TO BE.

FINAL RESULT:

pt 7

I ALSO MADE THE BACKGROUND LIGHTER USING CONTRAST. FINITO!

Leave a Reply

