43

IFSJDFIJDF TITLE

INTRODUCTION: WE OBVIOUSLY HAD TO ASSIGN BETWEEN OUR GROUP, DIFFERENT GENRES OF THE FILM FOR OUR POSTER TO BE BASED ON. AS I HAD PREVIOUSLY MENTIONED (I CHOSE MYSTERY). NABEELA AND MOLLY PICKED FANTASY AND HORROR AND DECIDED TO INCOOPORATE COLOUR AND MORE OF AN EXCITING ELEMENT TO THEIR FILM POSTER. NABEELA CHOSE FANTASY AND FROM WHAT I HEARD , THERE WAS MEANT TO BE AN ANIMATED/CARTOON FEEL TO HERS. MOLLY ANNE’S HOWEVER, WANTED TO ADOPT A MORE DARKER NATURE YET STILL KEEPING IT IN THEME OF FAIRYTALES. WHILST NABEELA WOULD MOST LIKELY INCOORPORATE HIGH KEY COLOURS, I PRESUMED THAT MOLLY ANNE’S WOULD BE QUITE DARK. AT THIS POINT, I STILL WASN’T SURE ABOUT THE COLOUR PALLETE. OUR TEACHER HAD ALSO PRESENTED US WITH THE WORK OF LAST YEAR. WE CAME ACROSS SO MANY INITIATIVE POSTERS, YET I’M SURE THE POSTER BELOW WAS EVERYONE’S FAVOURITE: IT CERTAIINLY WAS MINE.

serum film poster

^ REASONS WHY I AND PRETTY MUCH EVERYONE ELSE LOVED IT:

. THE PROFFESIONALISM TO THIS POSTER WAS PHENOMENAL

. THE SIMPLICITY OF THIS IS WHAT MAKES IT SO EFFECTIVE

. I FEEL AS IF THE PURPLEY-RED COLOUR (WHICH IS A CONNOTATION OF THE FILM) CAPTURES THE THEME OF MEDICINE AND VIOLENCE REALLY WELL.

THE COLOUR PALLETE IS VERY PRETTY ALSO; THE PURPLE MERGES PERFECTLY WITH THE MUTED CREAM BACKGROUND.

. THE SPATIAL LAYOUT HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED CLEARLY

. THE FOCAL IMAGE IS CERTAINLY THE FOCUS POINT

THE USE OF THE TECHNICAL EQUIPMENT IS EVIDENT. THERE IS A SHADOW PRESENT WHICH MAY BE A PRODUCT OF PHOTSHOP EDIITNG

MY THOUGHTS AFTER: AFTER MUCH INSPIRATION I HAD TO EMLULATE THE SIMPLICITIY AND SHARPNESS OF THIS ‘SERUM’ FILM POSTER BUT GIVE IT SOME EDGINESS TO MAKE IT PERSONAL TO ME. I DID DECIDE ON THE SECOND FILM POSTER WHICH WAS THE HANDS WRAPPED AROUND THE THORN BUT I WANTED TO MAKE IT MORE DARKER AND RAW. I FELT AS IF ALL MYSTERY POSTERS WERE SO SIMILAR AND I JUST COMPLETELY WANTED TO STEER AWAY FROM THAT.

FOR THE FOLLOWING PROCEDURE, I ENLISTED THE HELP OF MY FRIEND (PHOTOGRAPHY STUDENT) AS SHE EQUIPPED A CAMERA BUT ALSO HAD THE RIGHTFUL CAMERA KNOWLEDGE, REQUIRED FOR TAKING GOOD PICTURES.

FullSizeRender[2]

^ FIRSTLY, I HAD TO TAKE PICTURES OF THE ROSE. AT THAT MOMENT, I WANTED A PLAIN WHITE BACKGROUND. THE REASON FOR THIS IS, IT WILL MAKE THINGS MUCH EASIER TO TRANSFER ON PHOTOSHOP. IF I TOOK THE PICTURE AGAINST A TABLE OF MAGAZINES (RANDOM), IT WOULD BE VERY HARD TO CUT THE FLOWERS OUT OF THE BACKGROUND. I WANTED THE ROSE TO BE THE FOCAL POINT SO I PLACED IT IN ON THE CENTRE OF THE CARD TO CAPTURE IT’S IMPORTANCE. I WANTED TO TAKE VARIOUS CAMERA SHOTS OF THE FLOWERS TO CAPTURE THE DIFFERENT ELEMENTS TO THE ROSE. THE PICTURE ABOVE SHOWS ME TAKING A MID-SHOT.

MY FILM POSTER

.

BOOPOODOO

Leave a Reply

